12th December 2018

SCCJR is set to join a new expert group which will today meet for the first time to improve support, advice and information for victims of crime.

Co-chaired by the Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf and Lord Advocate James Wolffe QC, the Victims Taskforce brings together senior decision-makers from justice agencies, the legal profession, academia and the voluntary sector, including direct representation of victims.

At the first meeting the taskforce will focus on confirming their remit and membership; how best to engage more broadly with victims and witnesses; and how best to fulfil their remit.

Dr Margaret Malloch, Associate Director for SCCJR and Associate Professor/Reader of Criminology at the University of Stirling will represent the Centre on the taskforce.

She said: “The Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research is pleased to have been invited to participate in the Scottish Government Victims Taskforce and we look forward to contributing to this important work.

“SCCJR has considerable expertise in conducting independent academic research, much of which involves prioritising the experiences of victims of crime and their encounters with the criminal justice system. Our work also highlights the wider impact of harm that affects individual and community experiences of victimisation and we welcome this opportunity to collaborate with other participating organisations to improve the circumstances of victims and witnesses in the criminal justice in Scotland.”

A full list of members is below:

Name   Organisation
Humza Yousaf MSP   Scottish Government – Cabinet Secretary for Justice – (Co-chair)
James Wolffe QC   Scottish Government – Lord Advocate (Co-chair)
Neil Rennick   Scottish Government, Director of Justice
Michael Chalmers   Scottish Government, Director of Children and Families
Iain Livingstone   Police Scotland, Chief Constable
David Harvie   COPFS, Crown Agent
Eric McQueen   Scottish Courts and Tribunal Service, Chief Executive
Colin McConnell   Scottish Prisons Service, Chief Executive
John Watt   Parole Board, Chair
Pauline Proudfoot   Scottish Children’s Reporter Administration, Operational Development Manager
Karyn McCluskey   Chief Executive, Community Justice Scotland
Kathryn Lindsay   Scottish Social Work (Head of Children, Families & Justice at Angus Council)
Kate Wallace   Victim Support Scotland, Chief Executive
Marsha Scott   Women’s Aid, Chief Executive
Sandy Brindley   Rape Crisis Scotland, Chief Executive
Mhairi McGowan   Head of ASSIST and Domestic Abuse services
Mary Glasgow   Children 1st, Chief Executive
Victims Organisations Collaboration Forum Scotland   Rotating seat –

Ann Galbraith, Action against Stalking

Lorna Jack   Law Society of Scotland, Chief executive
Angela Grahame   Faculty of Advocates, Vice-Dean
Margaret Malloch   Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research
Lynn Burns   Victim’s Voice


Media Contact:

Rachelle Cobain, Communications Officer, SCCJR
T: 0141 330 1834
E: rachelle.cobain@glasgow.ac.uk