SCCJR is a partnership of four universities (Glasgow, Edinburgh, Stirling and Strathclyde) working in alliance with individuals and groups in several other Scottish higher education institutions. The University of Glasgow is the administrative base of SCCJR.

SCCJR’s organisational structure includes an Executive Committee, a Management Committee, and a Board of Governance.

SCCJR Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the Centre Director and each of the Associate Directors from the partner institutions. The Executive Committee coordinates and carries out the strategic activities agreed for the year by the Management Committee.



Dr Sarah Armstrong (University of Glasgow)

Associate Directors

Dr Ali Fraser (University of Glasgow)
Dr Niall Hamilton-Smith (University of Stirling)
Dr Margaret Malloch (University of Stirling)
Prof Lesley McAra (University of Edinburgh)
Prof Fergus McNeill (University of Glasgow)
Prof Laura Piacentini (University of Strathclyde)
Dr Anna Souhami (University of Edinburgh)
Dr Beth Weaver (University of Strathclyde)

SCCJR Management Committee

The Management Committee includes the Centre Director, Associate Directors and representatives from the Scottish Government, related cognate Centres and from time to time invites other to sit in on meetings. It meets three times per year.

The Management Committee provides overall co-ordination of SCCJR’s research programme; agrees SCCJR strategies; ensures appropriate governance arrangements are in place; monitors progress; and oversees the financial arrangements.

SCCJR Board of Governance

The Board of Governance meets annually to review the activity and expenditure of the Centre . It consists of the Vice Principals from each of the partner institutions.

Founding Co-Directors

Prof Michele Burman (University of Glasgow)
Prof Richard Sparks (University of Edinburgh)
Prof Gill McIvor (University of Stirling)